Collective Haul & First Impressions

Hello my lovely beauties! I’m so glad to be back from my couple of days of absence. School is starting to speed up and go by so fast and it’s crazy! I can’t believe how close my class is to graduation and I am so excited for it!

Before I get into today’s post, I just wanted to let you know that I am working on setting up social media for my blog on Instagram and Twitter where I can post daily looks and inspiration for you all. I will let you know when that all goes up hopefully sometime later this week, so make sure to look out for that.

Anyways, today I have a haul for you (again, I know). I’m thinking of changing my blog to “Lexy Spends Too Much On Make Up and Needs to Stop”, but that’s a little too long. This haul has a few things from Sephora, Ulta, and Cosmo Prof.

A little disclaimer before I get into this, one of the items in this haul is from a store called Cosmo Prof, which is a supply store for licensed MUAs (Make Up Artists), cosmetologists, and hair stylists. My mom is able to shop there because she does have a license. While you are able to purchase that product in other stores or online, it will not be the same price that I mentioned unless you or someone that you know is a licensed professional and has access to Cosmo Prof.

Ulta:

So, as you all probably know at this point, Ulta is my go to because not only is it close to where I live and work, it also has an awesome points and rewards system compared to Sephora’s Beauty Insider and I am able to get most of my products there, so for that reason, most of my haul items do come from Ulta.

The first thing that I picked up was a definite need: concealer. I had originally had my heart set on the lightest shade available in the Tarte Shape Tape Concealer, which was not in stock at my Ulta, so I decided to try something new. What I ended up with was the Smashbox Studio Skin 24 Hour Waterproof Concealer in the shade Fair to use to highlight my under eye area. I believe this was around $25 or $26 for the tube. This product is oil free, like all products that I use on my face (save for my Maracuja Oil which I swear  by) and is a great shade for me to use as a highlighting concealer. I have used this a few times and it blends out great and stays all day, even when I forget to set my makeup. The only downside is that until you get this blended in, it does sting the eyes a little bit if you get too close, so if your eyes are sensitive to things like that, I might skip out on this one.

img_18311

The next thing that I got from Ulta was the Urban Decay Vice Liquid Lipstick in the shade WSM, which is a more cool, purple toned pink color, which I purchased for $18. This formulation is newer for Urban Decay and I think that they did a lovely job. While I have only used this twice, the pigmentation is stellar and the lip color is comfortable and lightweight, which I appreciate so much.  I will probably be purchasing more shades in this formulation to add to my collection.

img_18321

The other lip color I decided to get was the Too Faced Melted Matte Liquid Lipstick in Lady Balls, which totaled out to be $21. I needed a really good, velvety, stay-all-day matte red lipstick that I could depend on. I have purchased this formulation in the past and it is very consistent. While I used to hate this formulation, I am learning to love it for its staying power and velvety finish. Also, this shade is such a beautiful, true, bright red that looks amazing on any skin tone and complexion.

img_18331

The last thing that I purchased at Ulta was the Stila Eyeshadow Single in the famous shade, Kitten, for $18. While I do not like eyeshadow singles due to space and storage reasons, I actually bought this to use as a more popping highlight, not an eyeshadow, though I have used it as both. As a shadow, I don’t think it is anything super special, but as a highlight, dang girl, you know this is the highlight that will show up in your pictures and everything. This is the highlight that even men will notice you are wearing. I know that Stila does also have the highlighter in Kitten, but the formulation of the Heaven’s Hue Highlighters are, to me, disgusting and overly creamy for a powder product. The pigmentation does not compare to that of the shadow either, which is a big deal to me.

img_18361

Sephora:

I’ve already said this, but I only buy things at Sephora that I am unable to purchase at Ulta, which is why only one product in this haul is from Sephora, as it is an exclusive.

I did it. I finally broke down. I bought the Becca x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector in Champagne Pop. For the longest time, this was so hyped up and I was like “that can’t be that good”. Well, after a week or so of use, let me tell you: IT IS THAT GOOD! It is quickly becoming one of my favorite highlighters to use and let me tell you, this one is like Kitten, highly pigmented and POPPING! If you want any features to stand out, swipe this on and you have it! The shade is universally flattering and so so beautiful. This was a pricier product running at $38 and worth every penny.

img_18291

Cosmo Prof

Now, this product was a Valentine’s Day gift from my wonderful mom.

The Bal Cosmetics Meet Matt(e) Trimony Eyeshadow Palette is what she got for me, which cost $21 at the supply store (retails at $42). This palette is qujickly making its way into my favorites, as it is highly pigmented, bendable, and the shade selection is amazing with a mix of warm and co0l toned mattes. This is the perfect matte palette for me and so far I am adoring this!

Thank you so much for reading today, I hope you enjoyed my haul and first impressions/mini reviews here. Make sure to comment and let me know what you want to see on the blog next or if you want to see a full and in depth review of any of these products.

xoxo,

Lexy

 

 

One thought on “Collective Haul & First Impressions

Leave a Reply

